Who will the Colts take in the Second Round on Friday Night?

After a crazy trade filled first round, several very good players are still available.  The Colts pick second Friday night, number 34 overall.  Who will they pick?  A look at some of their options:

Courtney Upshaw, DE/OLB, Alabama – I had Upshaw going 15th to the Eagles.  He dropped out of the first round.  He can likely play either a 4-3 defensive end or a 3-4 rush linebacker, which he would in Indy.  Upshaw’s drop was surprising, and the Colts at number 34 will likely be able to take a first round caliber player. 

 Stephen Hill, WR, Georgia Tech – I had Hill going 26th to Houston.  He is a very talented player and in my opinion, the 3rd best wide receiver in the draft.  I am very surprised he dropped out of the first round, and the Colts must think long and hard about him.  Would be a great number 2 wideout and would greatly improve the receiving core. 

 Janoris Jenkins, CB, North Alabama – I had the Colts taking Jenkins in the 2nd round in my Colts mock draft.  A top 10 talent, the reason he dropped is due to numerous off the field issues.  Still, I can see the Colts going with Jenkins.  They need talent, and Jenkins would immediately become the Colts’ best corner.

 Peter Konz, OC, Wisconsin – I had Konz going to the Broncos at pick number 25.  He is the best center in the draft, and really the only one worth taking a high round pick on.  The Colts need a long-term center, and Konz could become that. 

 Jerel Worthy, DT, Michigan State – I had Worthy going 28th to the Packers.  While a better pick in a 4-3 defense, he could play in a 3-4 as well.  That said, I see this as a big reach for the Colts.

 Coby Fleener, TE, Stanford – I had Fleener going number 30 to San Francisco.  Originally, he was my pick for the Colts in the second round, but I thought for sure he was going in the first round.  I thought if not the 49ers, then the Giants.  But neither took him.  This is a no-brainer for Indy.  I am a very, very happy guy right now.  Only St. Louis stands in the way of Luck and Fleener reuniting.  

And the Colts will take… Coby Fleener.  Easy choice.  The perfect fit.  If for some devastating reason the Rams take Fleener, I think the Colts will go with Stephen Hill.  But I am fairly confident that the Rams will take Hill, leaving Fleener to the Colts.  And if that happens, that loud cheer you hear will be coming from Colts nation.

About Josh Wilson
Follow Josh on twitter @jwilsonWL, on Facebook at the Operation: Freedom page, or you can reach him by email at operation.freedom@yahoo.com.

Thoughts about this post? Share them below

