There is no way around it: It’s Over

It’s over.

There is no way that anyone could logically think that it is not.

Peyton Manning will not be returning to the Colts next year.

Peyton’s comments to Indianapolis Star columnist Bob Kravitz Monday angered Jim Irsay, and he responded today following Chuck Pagano’s press conference:

“He’s a politician. When it comes to being competitive on a scale of one to 10, 10 being the highest, we’re both 11s. There have been plenty of eggshells scattered around this building by him (Manning) with his competitive desire to win.

“I don’t think it’s in the (best) interest to paint the Horseshoe in a negative light, I really don’t. . . The horseshoe always comes first. One thing (Manning has) always known, and he’s been around it so long, you keep it in the family. If you’ve got a problem, talk to each other. It’s not about campaigning or anything like that.”

Manning answered to the Star tonight, saying:

“At this point, Mr. Irsay and I owe it to each other and to the fans of the organization to handle this appropriately and professionally, and I think we will. I’ve already reached out to Mr. Irsay. I wasn’t trying to paint the Colts in a bad light, but it’s tough when so many people you’ve known for so long are suddenly leaving. I feel very close to a lot of these guys and we’ve done great things together. It’s hard to watch an old friend clean out his office. That’s all I was trying to say.

“I just want to keep rehabbing and working hard, and when the time is right for Mr. Irsay and I to sit down, I look forward to a healthy conversation about my future. I’ve worked too hard and have such great respect and have so many great relationships inside the building and out, and it’s incredibly important that those remain.”

“I want to separate the personal and the business.  I’ve seen it get personal in other situations, and I don’t want that to happen here.”

Folks, Peyton Manning is done as a Colt.  Let’s just hope that two great guys can make the departure respectable.  Nobody wants what happened in Green Bay to happen in Indianapolis (Brett Favre’s departure was incredibly ugly). 

A week ago tomorrow was the 5th anniversary of the greatest game in Colts history.

It wasn’t supposed to end like this.  Its too soon.  There was more to be accomplished.

Thank you for everything, Peyton.  I will never love an athlete more than I did you.  You will always be my favorite. 

Peyton, thanks for everything.  You will always hold a special place in my heart, and in the hearts of every Colts fan everywhere.  You will always be a Colt.  When it comes time for you to go into the hall of fame, Colts fans will celebrate like crazy.  But, tough as it may be, Andrew Luck is out future quarterback.  If Luck can even come close to what you have done here, he will be successful.  Thanks, Peyton.  You were the perfect person to get a city interested in football.  Now, however, the Colts must keep them interested.

I’m sorry it has to end this way.

You will always be Indy’s hero.

About Josh Wilson
Follow Josh on twitter @jwilsonWL, on Facebook at the Operation: Freedom page, or you can reach him by email at operation.freedom@yahoo.com.

Thoughts about this post? Share them below

