Peyton Manning’s Comments Today

Here is the transcript of what Peyton Manning said today (thanks to Phil Wilson of the Indy Star for it):

“Tough, disappointing loss today. (Would have) been nice to finish with a win. Had two other games like this. The more recent one was 2001. We didn’’t win that last game against Denver and it does take a little sting off a disappointing season. Would have been nice to have won three in a row. Either way, no question it hasn’t been the kind of season anybody wanted.”

Now what for you?

“There’s still some unknown. I will continue to rehab. I’ll sit down with (team trainers) Erin (Barill) and Dave Hammer sometime this week and map out our offseason plan. Just get on some kind of schedule during the offseason to rehab. I’ll continue to do that and keep trying to get healthier and see how that plays out each week.”

Contributions from sideline?

“It’s certainly been a different season. First one not being out there, being a part of it. It was hard not being out there with my teammates. I’ve never taken for granted being healthy and being able to play. I don’t think I’ve ever shorted myself an opportunity to play or to practice. I think that’s how everybody should play. I have always played that way.

“It hasn’t bene fun watching the guys lose games and guys struggle. But like coach (Jim) Caldwell said, guys have played hard all year. Guys have competed. I’ve been there all season. Been in the facility every day rehabbing. Been here for every game. I don’t know what kind of help I’ve been or contribution I’ve made. But it hasn’t been a whole lot of fun for anyone.”

What if the Colts draft Stanford QB Andrew Luck, can you two co-exist?

“That’s just something I haven’t thought a whole lot about. The draft’s four months away. Like I’ve said all along, the Colts are going to do what they have to do. The draft is something the personnel department will address. They’ll deal with it as they see fit.

“As far as can I co-exist with anybody? I think I can co-exist with any player I’ve ever played with. I think I’ve always been a good teammate that way. But to speculate on who we’re going to draft, that’s probably more for other people to do. Not other players.”

Would he be willing to work with another QB?

“It’s a speculative question. I consider myself a teammate that can play with anybody. If you’re representing (Luck) as his agent, Bob (Kravitz) as you’ve been the last couple of months, that’s different. Hope he’s not ineligible for the bowl game tomorrow because he signed Bob as his agent. I don’t know. Like I said, that’s all going to shake out. We’ll have our physicals tomorrow morning and have a team meeting at 1 o’clock and I think it will be an interesting meeting.”

Is change inevitable?

“It is part of it and to speculate on what’s going to change, I just can’t do that. There are decisions to be made on a number of people, including myself. So I am very aware of that. I heard (C Jeff) Saturday saying you can control what you can control so I’m going to continue to rehab, try to get healthy. I’m going to be one of the few people not to give reports on the rehab and progress.I’m continuing to rehab and try to get better and that’s all I’ll say about that. We’ll just see how everything shakes out.”

Can you be where you need to be in march?

“We’ll see. I may, but I’m probably not going to share.”

Can you say how much you’re throwing, how arm’s coming?

“I’m not sure.”

Will you fail your physical tomorrow?

“I don’t know. That was kind of news to me. I could pass it. I don’t know. Like I say, I don’t know. I might have a lead screw in my head. I don’t how that works. I think part of it is just paperwork, somewhat. It allows you to rehab at the facility and use Erin. That’s all kind of new to me, the CBA. There’s a lot of things I’ve learned this year. All that’s been somewhat new to me. I think of it is paperwork with the new CBA to allow you to work out at your facility.

“Not rehabbing at the facility this offseason was tough. You go to a place, you’re rehabbing, the lady next to you is getting her bunions worked on, asking you if she should draft (Dallas) Clark on her fantasy team. It’s hard to rehab and deal with that.

“If that’s what I have to do to rehab, I guess I’m glad that I’ll fail it.”

What Colts might be like without veterans Saturday and Wayne, could be dismantled?

“When you speculate, I tend to think about good things that may happen but you certainly know that, it’s a possibility. The longer you play, you realize that you can’t play with the same guys or have the same scenario that you always had. That’s just part of growing up and getting older and I’m very aware of that. We all want certain things; that doesn’t mean you get to do it. I want to play in the Masters but it’s probably not going to happen.

“’It’s part of it’ is an expression that’s used a lot but it’s just kind of the truth. We’ll see how it all works out. I’m not into giving a farewell or a final say until I know what’s going to happen for anybody. I think it’s well-documented how I feel about all the players and coaches and management and the way people have been to me.

“I think people know how I feel about them. Like I said, we’ll see how it all shakes out.”

Can a quarterback picked No. 1 play right away?

“I don’t know. That’s the way it worked for me. I certainly enjoyed playing. I think it helped me playing right away. I’ve been on the record saying that. I think Eli (Manning) felt the same way.”

Is the future with this organization the priority for you?

“Priority for me is get healthy. I’ve got to get healthy for me. I’ve got to get healthy for the team. I’m under contract with the Colts. That’s my job, to get healthy for them. It’s been hard not being able to help this year on the field. I’ve learned when you’re not playing, there’s not a lot you can really do to help. I’ve tried to be here. I’ve encouraged guys. I’ve tried to give an idea here and there. Best way for me to have helped all the years has been playing so that’s what I want to get back to be able to play on the field. That’s where my priority is at this point”

Has it been one of the more interesting years of your life with the injury, the highs of having (twin) children?

“No question. That’s a good word for it. I’ve had a good attitude about it. I feel like I’ve handled the injury part of it well. It’s been new.”

About Josh Wilson
Follow Josh on twitter @jwilsonWL, on Facebook at the Operation: Freedom page, or you can reach him by email at operation.freedom@yahoo.com.

Thoughts about this post? Share them below

